Monologue Madness: Long Monologues (5 minutes and over)

In January 2010, the big 'W' sign was put back in place atop the newly renovated original 1903 Woodward's Building on Hastings and Abbott street

There have been so many changes and exciting things in my life recently I have not had time to write about all of them… or even most of them! One of amazing things that made me jump up and down and hop around my hotel room (I was in Indiana for my sister’s graduation from nursing school when I found out) was being accepted into the BFA Theatre Performance program at SFU! I have decided to try and finish two degrees (my previous joint major between Interactive Arts + Technology and Communications and now the Theatre Performance major in addition). Bam! It will be fun. Anywho… in my acceptance letter for the program I was also given my first assignment. I need to come into class on the first day with a 5 minute monologue memorized. No big deal right?

At first I was excited and then I began to see how challenging it is to find a monologue of that length from a published play. Phew! Luckily I have some great mentors who gave me some suggestions. I read ALL of these plays before I finally decided on a excerpt from Adult Child/Dead Child by Claire Dowie. I wanted to publish this list to help others who may be looking for long pieces of text. Break a leg!

Long Female Monologues:

  • Autobahn by Neil LaBute
  • Problem Child by George F. Walker
  • Five Women Wearing the Same Dress by Alan Ball
  • The Shape of Things by Neil LaBute
  • The Occupation of Heather Rose by Wendy Lill
  • Theresa’s Creed by Michael Cook
  • The Weir by Conor McPherson
  • Long Day’s Journey Into Night by Eugene O’Neill
  • Lion in the Street by Judith Thompson
  • The Russian Play by Hannah Moscovitch
  • USSR by Hannah Moscovitch
  • My Pyramids by Judith Thompson (in Palace of the End)
  • Instruments of Yearning by Judith Thompson (in Palace of the End)
  • Body and Soul (in Palace of the End)
  • Faith Healer by Brian Friel
  • Medea Redux by Neil Labute
  • Homebody/Kabul by Tony Kushner
  • Dying to be Thin by Linda Carson
  • Adult Child/Dead Child by Claire Dowie

Long Male Monologues:

  • Billy Bishop Goes to War by John Gray with Eric Peterson
  • Lion in the Street by Judith Thompson
  • Harrowdown Hill by Judith Thompson (in Palace of the End)
  • Faith Healer by Brian Friel
  • IIphigenia inOrem by Neil Labute

Further Reading: What I meant was by Craig Lucas (might have something, didn’t get to this one)

Special Thanks to Patti Allan (and all her awesome friends at Bard on the Beach which you should totally go see btw), Deborah Solberg from Theatrix Youtheatre and Dolores Drake for their contributions to this list. I could not have done this without their suggestions and insight.

Leave a Reply

