The Cove Movie Review

Yesterday I attended a screening of the documentary movie: The Cove. It is about the dolphin slaughter occurring in Taiji, Japan and the journey of a group that attempted to document it on film. I was quite excited too watch it as my Dad told me about this film back in the summer but I have not had the opportunity to watch it… until now.

I always enjoy a good documentary but I must admit I was a little disappointed with this one. The finalé footage of the slaughter was anticlimactic. They spent the entire movie hyping up the secrets and hidden activities that occur in this cove and then when you finally witness it, it becomes one of those – well what did you think it was gonna look like situations. No surprises there. Some less than desirable sequences (such as the opening credits and the unaesthetic attempt at creative editing) left me unentertained. I really enjoyed their creativity in terms of how the mission was planned out and their attitude when dealing with the Japanese authorities. I commend their effort as a whole and completely agree with what they were trying to achieve. They covered the issue in a (relatively) unbiased manor and (in my opinion) truthfully documented the situation. I’d give this movie a 6.5 / 10.

It’s always interesting when I go to animal rights related events. As a vegan I don’t feel that I personally contribute to many of these issues (concerning meat consumption and seafood fishing) however I understand the the problems still exist. Now the real question, what (else) can I do to prevent this? It can be hard to promote my beliefs while still being accepting and respectful of the choices others choose to make.

The screening itself was special because they had Mandy-Rae Cruickshank, the FreeDiver from the movie there to answer questions afterward. I had to leave before she was done taking questions but it was very cool to be there in the room with someone so passionate and connected to the film and the issues.

Although it didn’t live up to my film making standards i’d still recommend people watch the film. To help the cause you can text DOLPHIN to 44144, and sign their petition straight from your phone.

For more information visit:

http://www.thecovemovie.com/

http://www.takepart.com/thecove

http://sama-bc.org/#home

Leave a Reply

