MY DAY WITHOUT SHOES

In case you missed it, Thursday was One Day Without Shoes, an event created by the inspiring company TOMS Shoes. This was my experience.

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL One Day Without Shoes With TOMS Shoes!!! Show your sole/soul and join the barefoot movement : D | Thu at 9:20am

It was one of those cold yet sunny mornings and I was awoken by the morning light shining on me. I painted my toes and set out for another adventure. I walked from my house to the bus stop that I usually visit and noticed so many hazards along the way! I stubbed my toe on the sidewalk and nearly avoided some glass! I am not sure why I thought this event would be easy but in deciding to participate it never occurred to me that things would be difficult. Shoes are one of those things I don’t really think about too much. You don’t notice how crucial they are until you are barefoot. I guess that was the point of the event. Like that song says…

Nobody said it was easy

No one ever said it would be this hard

– The Scientist, Coldplay

Anyways I got a lot of funny looks on the bus but I just kept smiling and laughing at the situation. I had to go to school to write an exam and before/after I got the chance to explain the event to people. Next I skytrained to the theatre and quickly learned that: escalators = bad (they are painful to stand on because of the grooves), people spit everywhere, and gum is unavoidable. I noticed how the different surfaces I walked on felt. Some concrete is soft and smooth while other surfaces are rough and untamed. Also, aside from protecting feet, shoes help to keep you warm! I had to do a little jig to keep my toes from freezing.

Girl on transit laments, “my feet are so cold even with boots on.”; Try a Day Without Shoes. Vancouver is #hardwithoutshoes | 11:00 AM Apr 8th via tx

While aboard the 97 a kind soul tapped me on the shoulder to observe that I had no shoes. I think she was prepared to offer me some, I was very touched. While I was crossing the street a man in an SUV pointed so I tried to explain as best I could (yelling at an intersection isn’t the best way to tell people things..), it was an entertaining gesture (PUN!).

After the show finished I continued my barefoot journey to Coquitlam Centre. On the way I convinced some friends to join the barefoot revolution…

Then before returning to the barricade (for Les Miserables) we got to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of nature for a while. Yay for Lafarge Lake! The whole day was pretty awesome and I could literally feel the love and joy around me (I think it helped that Ingrid Michaelson song “everybody” was stuck in my head and set to repeat on my iPod, how can you NOT feel happy when playing that?)

I am a mover and a shaker. Today, I am grateful for shoes.

5 thoughts on “MY DAY WITHOUT SHOES

  1. Pingback: First Time… « i'm on an adventure!

  2. Pingback: I AM RADIATING JOY! | i'm on an adventure!

Leave a Reply

