Impact

On Saturday I had the privilege of attending SFU’s first 2010 Orientation Leader Training Session (which is basically a leadership and mentorship thing, helping first years). They had a keynote style presentation by Stephen Tang about the impact and the impression you make on others. He told us three main points:

    1. It’s all about relationships.
    2. You can do anything.
    3. Be proud.

which I agree with whole-heartedly. He did say one thing which I wish to disagree with though (or rather, would like to expand upon). He told us that success and failure are not two separate destinations. Instead he suggested that failure is a step on the road to success. He also told us that, “Life is about learning”. I would like to say that

If life is about learning, than failure IS success.

(Aside: FAIL FTW in e-speak? hehe) Apart from that I took several other things away from the presentation. There were some questions he asked us to answer personally on a sheet of paper, the first of which was “I want to thank… for their iMpact on my life.” This led me to wonder (and ask him after the presentation) when you should thank someone. He basically told me that you should try to do it as soon after the thing for which you are grateful occurs, however, when you have the desire to thank them is always the right time. I then asked him what the best way to thank someone is. He said you should think about the person you are thanking and acknowledge them in the way that they would be most appreciative of. He suggested…

    • a heartfelt e-mail
    • a letter
    • a public proclamation
    • a personal conversation
    • a hug

I was very grateful for his responses. I would consider myself a fairly thankful person but I don’t know that I always chose the best method of showing my gratitude.

I’ve spent the past few days pondering the other questions on that sheet of paper and i’d like to share some of them with you.

I have learned… to never leave stuff anywhere, you never know what will happen.

I am proud to be… WEIRD!

I will commit to myself that… I will continue to grow and move forward in health, happiness and hospitality.

I want my “Thank You” to say… that I mattered. That I made someone feel like they belonged. That I touched someone’s life.

So… what say you?

5 thoughts on “Impact

  1. Good luck on your adventures! Here is the poem that I wanted to read to you :)

    LIFE IS ABOUT LEARNING – NOT BEING PERFECT

    Life is about learning – not being perfect

    It´s about waking up each morning
    knowing there is still something
    left to discover about yourself
    and the world around you
    and that you still have a chance
    to make a difference in both

    It´s about better
    being better
    doing better
    a little at a time with each decision and action
    day by day
    moment to moment
    or in quantum leaps
    that take your breath away

    It´s about hope
    that tomorrow does not have to be the same as today or yesterday because you have a roadmap created when history collides with vision

    It´s about making mistakes
    and seeing them as lessons
    opportunities for growth
    invitation to change
    valuable chapters
    in your lifelong education
    whose debt you repay be sharing those learnings

    It´s about being tolerant
    and forgiving of yourself
    and the other
    less-than-perfect beings
    who touch your life

    You know some things in life
    are so easy to say
    yet, so hard to grasp
    even more difficult to live
    one of them is the fact that
    Life is about learning –
    not being perfect

    © 1995 Lydia Francis Williams, LFW Enterprises

    • That poem describes my outlook on life, it’s like it was written for me : D
      What a great piece of art!
      Thank you for sharing that and for reading my post, it was a pleasant surprise : )

  2. Pingback: What I’m grateful for in 90 seconds « i'm on an adventure!

  3. Pingback: Lessons from this semester | i'm on an adventure!

Leave a Reply

