Razia’s Shadow: The Indie Musical

Recently I was going though my iPod listening to songs beginning with the letter “e” (which really is an awesome letter btw: Enchantment by Lily Frost, Enchantment Passing Through from AIDA, The End by Mayday Parade…) when I stumbled upon”The End and the Beginning” from Forgive Durden’s musical Razia’s Shadow.

I discovered Forgive Durden just as Razia’s Shadow was being released, right after all the band members quit. I don’t know exactly what happened but the drift I got from reading various webpages is that Thomas Dutton (the only original remaining member) is both crazy and a musical genius. One of those people that is impossible to work with but creates amazing things.

The End and the Beginning

Anywho, Brendon Urie (Panic! at the Disco) sings on several of the tracks which made me love it immediately. It is very dark and intense but I love that an indie rock musical has been created! I love it when things I love come together.

The final song in particular has some really moving lyrics.

Please listen to my last words, before I fade away.

This is my gift to you: live for your love every day.

Please don’t let your tired heart stop beating.

You’re bleeding. Just keep breathing.

That line reminds me of the end of Godspell (which isn’t surprising because the sentiment is the same). The whole show is a bit of a Christian allegory if you ask me, but it’s an interesting story (betrayal, sacrifice) so  can see why it’s been reincarnated some many times.

So this is my cue of where to leave you.

Now it’s your story to retell and pass on.

Because an idea is only relevant if it’s being thought upon.

So remember, never surrender.

‘Cause the unrelenting constancy of love and hope

Will rescue and restore from any scope.

The percussive movement in this song is so awesome, I love it and I hope you give it a listen : )

Leave a Reply

