You are here.

One of the things on my manifesto is the statement “live LIVE” (spoken as live [the verb, to live] + live [state of being, to be live like a concert]). It was also one of my new year’s resolutions this year (basically to be more present and in the moment). I’ve really struggled with this concept throughout the past year. Sometimes I get too caught up observing and don’t actively participate in life. Sometimes (ie: on public transit) I feel my time is better spent reminiscing and remembering. It is important to look back sometimes (generally people who take time to reminisce are happier people [from Daniel Tammet’s book ” Embracing the Wide Sky”]), but if we get too caught up doing that we lose sight of opportunities available to us now.

I think the problem for me so far has been I didn’t have a clear enough idea of what I wanted to achieve. I really love “live LIVE” because it is something original that I created and it looks/sounds clever, however it is very ambiguous. My newest mantra came from the side of a bus. “You are here.” This phrase is a simple reminder to be where we are. You may want to be somewhere else, your mind may want to take off, but your body is still here. Even if your thinking has gone to a different place it is important to recognize where you actually are. You are here. You can be in multiple places at once (physical space and mental space for example, your body and your mind) but you can still know that “You are here”, wherever that may be.

So where are you?

2 thoughts on “You are here.

  1. Staying in the present was also one of my ‘resolutions” this year, or more like the big goal behind all my little ones. i want to spend less time in my head thinking of the past , etc. and more time paying attention to what’s really going on with me. The present is so entertaining! Just sitting on the bus or skytrain thee are so many different stories unfolding around you and I feel so much more connected with everyone when I stay present. I guess this sort of ties in to your latest post about strangers….
    btw. I love what you write on here, very inspirational

    -(your fellow hippowhhipper)

  2. Awe thank you Nicole!
    I was recently reading about how kindness is connected to being in the present. You can’t really interact and do little things that make a difference if you aren’t in the moment. It’s so nice how small gestures can totally make someone’s day.
    I love that we had a resolution in common. Great minds… : D
    We can do it! Raa!

Leave a Reply

