Adventure: Art Gallery


DSC_0343

Originally uploaded by jremps

Today I visited the Vancouver Art Gallery for the first time. Well alright, this was the third time i’ve been there in the past seven days… but after a year of going there for various rally’s, meet-ups and congregations this was my first time entering the gallery, funny how that works : P

I went with my friend Tanisha to see the exhibit “Leonardo da Vinci: The Mechanics of Man”. To be honest I was expecting much more. They had just taken a bunch of pages from his notebook a framed them. I think if DaVinci (a very paranoid and private person to my understanding) could see it he would have a heart attack. I’m glad i went though. We only got to see one other exhibit because all the upper floors were in transition. Afterwards we went to Urban Outfitters to see the book/weird stuff section. There are always so many entertaining things there!

When I got home I really wanted to make goma-ae (Japanese spinach salad with sesame sauce) but I didn’t have the ingredients so I walked to the grocery store. When I got to the checkout I realized I had left my wallet at home. Yay! Luckily my Mom was able to come bale me out. I love Mothers : ) Tell yours that. Now!

I used this recipe from Bento Filler and made a few adaptions.

1/2 pound of raw spinach, cooked.
1 Tbs. white sesame seeds
1/2 Tbs. mirin 1/2 Tbs. Pear Juice
1/2 Tbs. sugar 1/2 Tbs. Coconut Sugar
1 tsp. soy sauce

Bring a pot of water to the boil. Put the spinach leaves in the pot all at once. If you have baby leaves (they are round and small and not crinkled), boil them for 30 seconds and not any longer. If you have fully grown leaves, boil them for about a minute. Immediately drain the pot. Run cold water over the leaves to cool them off fast. Drain. Take the spinach leaves in your hands and squeeze out the water as much as you can.

If you don’t have pre-toasted sesame seeds (irigoma), toast the seeds briefly in a small dry frying pan. Crush in a small mortar and pestle or suribachi. Add the sugar and crush some more. Add the mirin and soy sauce and mix. Mix with the spinach. YUM.

One thought on “Adventure: Art Gallery

  1. hello,
    I am Satadru, an Fulbright scholar multi-faceted artists. Do painting ,sound and video Art . Done my New media Project at University California ,Santa Cruz in Digital Arts New Media (DANM)2007. Apart from this I am an multi-disciplinary Artist and doing new media Art . I like making friends, lots and lots of them. So, if anyone is interested in an Indian and US, don’t hesitate. cheers.

Leave a Reply

