An Evening of Rhythm and Breath

Are you awake?

Last night I attended this really awesome fundraiser! It was called “A Night of Rhythm and Breath” and we participated in an African dance workshop followed by some transformational breathing. The event was raising money for Alzheimer’s research and our friend Allan O’Meara, who I met through the Vancouver Hug Squad. Allan is leaving in September to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro for the cause (SIDENOTE: this reminded me a little bit of Greg Mortenson’s story which you can read about in his book “Three Cups of Tea“, I don’t really enjoy mountain climbing stories so I thought the first half was very boring but if you like that sort of thing i’m sure you’ll enjoy it).

Jacky Essombe is from Cameroon and she led a very fun dance segment. They had a bunch of people there doing African drumming and we got to dance to their rhythms. It was really cool to watch them drumming, the way they all stayed in sync (it must be through magic I have concluded). The one dude briefly mentioned “community drumming circles” which I hope to find out more about in the future. I always find it interesting when I dance that the moves most people have trouble with come easily for me while other things that people take to easily are a challenge. It was really nice to just be free to move and enjoy the music and the space. Check out Jacky’s website: http://www.jackyessombe.com/

The second part of the night was a transformational breathing session led by Dale Joyal. Before we started they kind of warned us about how intense it can be. I half expected to work through all these deep emotional issues and come out a different person. I think this experience really showed me how little I have to worry about and how blessed I have been in life. I don’t really know why I expected to work through deep emotional issues because to tell the truth I don’t think I have any right now. I have accepted things that have happened to me in the past and most of them have since become non-issues anyway. I think it’s one of those things where at the time something feels like the end of the world. To quote 17 Again, “When you’re young everything feels like the end of the world. But it’s not; it’s just the beginning.” (SIDENOTE: This movie is HILARIOUS, i’ve seen it 5 times but my goal is to get to 17 so if you ever wanna watch it just lemme know). I can’t describe the actual process of transformational breathing too much because I think you need to experience it to really understand. I felt very relaxed after… and cold… but i’m always cold haha. I fully encourage and support alternative health remedies like this. Dale described it to us as “oxygen therapy” at one point. I think it would be especially beneficial for singers, as breath support and breathing are they keys to an amazing voice.

Leave a Reply

