The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Last week I finished reading Stephen Chbosky’s “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”.

I think this is my favorite book (probably because i read it most recently hehe). The first half was really funny, so many good lines and funny moments.

“It was so delicious, it almost scared me.”

I think people out of high school with some life experience will especially appreciate some of the scenarios and the humor. It was like looking back and going yup been there. The author really captures that phase of life.

“Charlie, we accept the love we think we deserve.”

The end was very touching and it taught me some valuable lessons. I won’t ruin it for you but basically in order to really love someone you need to show them you love them through actions. Love isn’t something imaginary in your head, it is proven. Wise words Charlie. SuperForest introduced me to tis video and I think it helps illustrate what I mean.

You see, saying those things and talking about them (though beautiful) doesn’t mean anything. Neither does thinking them. To really love someone you need to do those things and share the experiences with the person. It can’t be in your head, because that’s not love, that’s just a crush. I shared this with a friend and they said it would be good on stage… I think i’m writing a monologue : )

Leave a Reply

