Make a Wish

I just began listening to Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s blog post about wishes. This got to me in the same way that PostSecret does. It amazes me how I can have so much in common with a complete anonymous stranger. Some of the wishes felt like someone was looking into my soul. We really are inter-connected. Some wishes were funny, others are making me cry. It’s interesting how wishes and secrets have so much in common (haha, i’m still listening to it and someone else noticed that, Great Minds!). I also noticed how many of the wishes are within the power and control of the wisher. If you want to do well in school, make it happen. If you want to be happy seek out happiness. I believe we all have power over our own destiny. I’m not saying it will be easy, but it is through facing difficulties and challenges that we learn the most important lessons. Sometimes when we don’t get what we wish for we realize we didn’t really need it anyway. I think somtimes life is about learning to live differently. Everything in life serves a purpose.

As kids we are taught to keep our wishes secret. Think about blowing out the birthday candles or wishing on a shooting star. If you tell someone then it won’t come true, right? I think, really, that logic just shows how scared many people are. When we say our wishes out loud we can turn them into goals, we might even find people that can help us make our wishes come true…

Personally, i’ve noticed how my wishes have changed. As a little girl I was very selfish and self-centered. I’ve spent a great deal of time working on that and trying to change that part of me. When I was younger I would always wish for material things, I remember wishing for a Furby so badly (which I ended up saving my money for and buying… poor girl working at Sears had to count all my pennies… further proof that we can grant our own wishes). I guess things like that were more important to me then. I can’t say that i’ve changed too much. Now I usually wish for other things I want, but instead of toys and material things I wish for meaningful relationships and love. Sometimes I feel guilty about this. I want to wish for a better world, a peaceful planet, happiness for others. When it comes down to one thing though, if i could only pick one thing to wish for, it would be a selfish wish. If i’m wishing for someone else to help me make a difference though, that should count for something shouldn’t it? A sort of selfish-unselfish wish?

Leave a Reply

