The Problem I have with Religion

The Kingdom of Jesus Christ: The Name Above Every Name

In case you can’t see it says, “The Kingdom of Jesus Christ: The Name Above Every Name”. I have a few problems with this. First off, I don’t think any name should be above every name. We should all be entitled to equality and no one should be treated at a higher standard than everyone else. This attitude also implies a sense of service. I think that we should all serve eachother not some “higher being”.

The World is my country,

all mankind are my brethren,

and to do good is my religion.

– Thomas Paine

When we all unite together under the flag of humanity, that’s when we will achieve peace. There is so much wisdom in the song “imagine”… pretty much sums up my world view. If believing in God helps you to be a better person and bring kindness into the world that is great, but anything that divides people has a downside.

Perhaps I am just quick to abandon my ties in favor of unity because I don’t have many ties. I was not brought up religiously and don’t have a cultural community that I interact with. I don’t feel much pride as a Canadian but instead feel as if I am a citizen of the planet. Maybe I would feel differently if my situation was different.

2 thoughts on “The Problem I have with Religion

  1. I would ask, “Why is it a name above all names?” and “What does it mean to serve God”?

    I know for the last question, my answer would be, “To serve God is to love and serve man, just as Jesus washed the feet of his own apostles.” So in serving God, humility and service to your fellow man is of the utmost importance. At least this is my view…

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

