Review: No Impact Man + Promises

This is from a while ago. I am just finishing it now… Enjoy!

No Impact Man Book CoverI had a somewhat sleepless night last night. I think I was up past 4:30AM, however because of my restlessness I was able to finish reading Colin Beavan’s book “No Impact Man”. Coincidentally (or magically? : P) he responded to the e-mail I wrote him yesterday as well with a simple “Thanks Jenni!”. I found the book to be much better than the movie but they compliment each-other well. The book explains some of the things that were unclear in the film. I’d like to share a short selection from my favorite passage:

“…the question isn’t wether or not I make a difference. The question is wether I want to be the type of person who tries. We can all make a difference. We all have the responsibility to make a difference.”

This mentality kinda relates back to a thought i’ve been having lately. I think, in general, in is better to break promises than not make them at all. Of course, if you can keep your promises that is even better but by making a promise you show that you care. Let’s look at a few examples. When I was little my Dad promised to take me to Disneyland. I am 18 now and have never been to Disneyland with my Dad. It’s too bad that we haven’t been able to make this trip together but by him making the promise it showed me that we wanted to take me and that the desire/thought was there. For another example, I was talking with this boy a while back (ooo scandalous aren’t I hehe). I remember him saying to me “I’m not making any promises but…” and I remember thinking that I don’t really want to spend a great deal of time with anyone who doesn’t care enough to make me a promise. Someone who doesn’t care enough to try, or doesn’t have the desire to, isn’t the best choice of friend. But enough about promises, back to No Impact Man.

The book was really well written, which is probably why I finished it so quickly. It was very funny and entertaining while still communicating the information. My only criticism would be it was a little vague at times. For example, he never really talks about what they used instead of toilet paper. While I understand his need for privacy, specific information about parts of the project would have been helpful to me, as I would like to implement portions of it in my own life.

They’ve started a site where people can take part in a “No Impact Week” Challenge. I don’t know that i’ll be able to take part in this until my show is done but this summer I PROMISE I am going to have a no impact week. And i’ll be sure to blog about it : )

4 thoughts on “Review: No Impact Man + Promises

  1. Pingback: зеленая книга « О чем говорят блогеры

  2. Hi there! I found you via your comment on the MISSion AmyKR blog–And I had to share this coincidence with you. I recently watched the No Impact Man documentary, and I have the book currently checked out from the library, but it’s due soon. I felt there was a lot of detail I wanted more information about, like you, and will have to just skim the sections I am most curious about because I just don’t have it in me to read the book right now. Anyway, thanks for sharing the fun dancing clips! Lisa P.S. I’m a “lacto-ovo” vegetarian, and have thought about a Vegan lifestyle. I did check out Alicia Silverstone’s book The Kind Diet–great info in that book if you haven’t looked at it yourself.

    See you around the MISSion blog! : )

    • Small World! You know what they say about great minds… : D

      Thanks for the recommendation, it is on my hold list at the library : )
      You should read Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. I found it hilarious, sort of a parody of those diet books. Well worth it for entertainment value alone.

  3. Pingback: Eco Leader Training! « i'm on an adventure!

Leave a Reply

