Internet Find: “I Am”

Internet Find: “I Am”.

I Am is not only a film but a social experiment that took strangers in Philadelphia and asked them to finish this sentence. “I am ___.”

So what are you?  Ask yourself, “Who am I?”  And let us know!  Mission: SuperForesterers comment letting the world know, “I am blank.”  Go to it you grand SuperForesters you!

When I was first watching the video, my initial reaction was confusion. How can we define who we are? Aren’t we defined by other people? Can anyone really know what they really are? But then I quickly realized how silly that sounds. Just last weekend I did a self awareness workshop at school. It talked about how everyone is multi-dimensional, “we are all plaid!” and how to communicate with others despite differences. So clearly, we are not just one thing.

I think it comes down to that Eminem lyric, “I am whatever I say I am, if I wasn’t, then why would I say I am?” In posting this I stumbled upon his latest song called “Not Afraid”. I wouldn’t call myself a huge rap fan but there really is a lot of good rap music out there (for example). Music with a message.

“I’m not afraid

to take a stand

Everybody

come take my hand

We’ll walk this road together

through the storm

Whatever weather,

cold or warm,

Just let you know that,

you’re not alone

Holla if you feel that

you’ve been down the same road…”

So for me, at this moment, I am my manifesto. I am smiling. I am sick, but I am not my sinus infection. I am blogging…

And most importantly, I am whatever I say I am : )

One thought on “Internet Find: “I Am”

  1. well said, the simple sentence I am can resonate so much for a person. Eminem’s lyrics speaks volumes, we are truly what we say we are, what we feel, how we act, we are what we portray ourselves to be but also what we hide from the world. GREAT POST!

Leave a Reply

