HOW TO SAVE A LIFE: FIRST AID EDITION

This past weekend I completed my Standard First Aid + CPR C training at SFU through the recreation program. I am working for SFU summer camps this summer and we are required to have this training. I met some really interesting people (and also some really good looking people haha, gotta love summer camps). I was surprised that I had actually been exposed to many situations that we covered. When we learned about the chest-sucking wound I immediately though about how my favourite high school teacher, Mr.Killawee saved a life using the plastic bag technique (taped on three sides it creates a seal). The course was pretty informal and fun. We had three groups for testing. One group would go outside while one group played the victims and the other acted as bystanders. In one scenario I came in as a first aider and nothing was wrong with anyone… then all the victims fainted on command. It was odd asking the people who looked fine if they needed first aid attention. I joked around, don’t first aiders always walk around asking everyone they see if they need medical attention : P (maybe you had to be there… hahaha).

Everything I learned inspired me to make this. It’s not perfect and I just did it for fun so bare through the mistakes and less-than jaw dropping performance.

HOW TO SAVE A LIFE: FIRST AID EDITION

A parody of The Fray by Jenni Rempel

Verse 1:

Step one you check for danger everywhere

Remove the danger, victim’s there

Find out if they want help from you

Then you ask what can I do

They might tell you mysteriously

Ask allergies, medications and history

for wounds ya clean and cover

prevents infections like no other

CHORUS:

Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend

EMS took too long again

And I would have compressed your chest all night

Had I known how to save a life

Verse 2:

To treat for shock you calm them with your voice

Position of comfort is their choice

Warm them up if they are cold

Use a blanket you have stowed

Lay down a list of what is wrong

Watch breathing and pulse along

Odds are they will end up okay

And you’ll begin to wonder why you came

CHORUS:

Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend

EMS took too long again

And I would have compressed your chest all night

Had I known how to save a life

Verse 3:

Someone unconscious isn’t a rest

Call 9-1-1 it’s for the best

pinch and shout into their ears

check for breathing: tongue in ear

give breath, readjust and try once more

two breaths, thirty compressions for

hook look to open airway

they need an open airway

CHORUS:

Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend

EMS took too long again

And I would have compressed your chest all night

Had I known how to save a life

2 thoughts on “HOW TO SAVE A LIFE: FIRST AID EDITION

Leave a Reply

