The Grand BC Adventure Part III

The next day of our trip I thought I was sleeping in but I actual woke up feeling pretty rested at 9:30. After lunch we set out to visit my Dad’s friends Steve and Randy. They live in Glade, which is about 90 minutes away from Grand Forks. We had to take a ferry over to get to it. They were so welcoming and very accommodating. When we first got there we didn’t see them and they didn’t answer the door so we walked around back and I saw this view…

SO AMAZING! I was like wow, I never want to leave! For dinner we made a salad with stuff from the backyard that I got to help pick, so amazing! We got to talking about this nearby town Nelson that has lots of vegan cafes and whatnot. Randy showed me this book about Nelson and it had this beautiful poem in it.

My Symphony

To live content with small means.

To seek elegance rather than luxury,

and refinement rather than fashion.

To be worthy not respectable,

and wealthy not rich.

To study hard, think quietly, talk gently,

act frankly, to listen to stars, birds, babes,

and sages with open heart, to bear all cheerfully,

do all bravely, await occasions, hurry never.

In a word, to let the spiritual,

unbidden and unconscious,

grow up through the common.

This is to be my symphony.

– by William Ellery Channing

For dinner everyone else (Steve, Randy, their neighbor who stopped by and my Dad) had some fancy glazed salmon but I had grilled pepper/green onion (MMMM) with dal and the salad I helped make. After we ate they took us to the local waterfall. The waterfall is where they get their drinking water from in Glade (it is non-chlorinated and non-fluorinated. I miss it already)

It was so nice to walk and be surrounded by nature. They were asking me about the music I listen to and I told them about Jason Mraz. He’s reaching even remote parts of the world now! hehe.

They were also telling me about how they met my Dad and how they tried to start this community called “Harmony Farmstead Co-operative”. Basically several families bought a piece of land and were going to live on it but then they had disagreements and it fell apart. It reminded me a bit of what SuperForest Jackson is trying to do right now at Zero One, but I think Zero One will be a major success!

Leave a Reply

