A Thursday of Epic Proportions

This is from June 24th.

Kids + Class + SFU’s Got Talent + AQ Outdoor Movie + Trip Home!

In the morning I helped with a Photoshop workshop for a class of elementary school kids. We turned ourselves into Avatar (well I turning Oprah into an Avatar) and it was fun. The kids came from a local elementary school which has an awesome musical theatre program and I enjoyed seeing them. The highlight for me was when I asked if the kids had Facebook. They told me “Of course! EVERYONE has Facebook.” but then they couldn’t log into their e-mail because they didn’t remember their passwords. Oh technology.

After the workshop I went home to eat quickly and pick up my guitar. Then I came back to school for my class. I had to leave the lecture early to go to the performance. Tonight was the first ever SFU’s Got Talent sponsored by the Arts and Culture Club. I played Everybody by Ingrid Michaelson.

The show was really fun. I was so happy to see all the other acts. To me, it was exactly the way I pictured a college talent show being. The audience was really supportive and several people complimented me after. I loved that even though I know I messed up a bit and could have done better people were still positive and encouraging. There was some poetry, a jazz band, and band with A KEYTAR : D

I ended up helping with the event, handing out 50-50 tickets and whatnot. A few times I ended up sneaking in front of the stage to access my guitar between acts and I created the best character ever: Awkward Ninja! Pretty self explanatory. I met some really cool people including the guy from Fractal Ferns. Check out their site, I had “Leaves” stuck in my head for some time.

Actually it was sort of funny. At one point I was talking to someone and then intermission was ending and I wanted to make sure the organizers were okay and didn’t need help (since  had been helping them before) so I told the person I was speaking with that I had to go. They knew I needed to leave for the next thing on my agenda and asked if I had to go but I told them “No, i’m just going over there” which made it sound like I didn’t want to talk to them… brilliant haha. I’ve noticed I do that sometimes. I’m really bad at ending conversations at mix n mingle type events. I usually just leave without saying anything which is awkward so I am trying to stop doing that. I need to practice this more.

After the show I left with the group I was supposed to be leading to Burnaby Campus for the Orientation outdoor movie social. We were very late leaving but we got there in perfect time because they were late starting. Proof that everything will always be fine, or better than fine : )

We watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off under the stars. At one point I looked up and it looked just like that scene in The Lion King where the stars talk to Simba as Mufassa. Magical! Also, a friend in my class brought my raspberries from her backyard so I got to snack on some local goodness during the movie. They were even in an empty soy-gurt container. LOVE!

“Life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in a while you might miss it.” – Ferris Bueller

Afterward, on the way down the mountain the driver drove really fast and we had a super fun, super bumpy ride. I was actually flying in the air at times. The whole thing made me very excited for orientation and reminded me how much I am enjoy life right now. I really love SFU and University in general. Smiles all round.

5 thoughts on “A Thursday of Epic Proportions

  1. That’s great to hear, expecially seeing as I’m considering attending SFU after highschool (Although first I might take a trip to Europe with a friend of mine on a holiday visa thing a ma bob….go tour Europe, stay in England for a bit to assure us we know the language spoken XD….)

  2. It’s so fun! I love SFU. That Europe trip sounds really cool though, I hope you make it happen and it exceeds your expectations. You should check out the website couch surfers. It’s a good way to travel cheaply. A friend of mine did a trip that way after high school.

  3. What programs are you in in SFU? What campus?
    We definately won’t be in the same year, but maybe we’ll be University buddies! ^_^
    Wow…that would be neat, knowing someone before you even get in.

  4. “ve had classes at all three campuses but I am mainly at Surrey. I am in the School of Interactive Arts + Technology (SIAT).
    For sure! If you do come to SFU you should definitely come to Orientation, you get to meet a ton of people before school starts so you know some folks before you come in : )

  5. Haha. I went to the open house 2 years ago and toured SIAT. Neat program, but not for me D:
    As it stands now, I’d be mainly at Burnaby (Archaeology) butSurrey for my first year :)
    But I may go into the french program aswell….*undecided*
    That’s what grade 12’sfor :P

Leave a Reply

