The future

“…I’m not talking about a commune, or even an active rejection of modern life. I’m just talking about a way of life that puts having some fun at the center, a way for people who want to garden, to make music, to play games, or to just have a good conversation, and live cheaply enough that we’re not working all our waking hours to pay the bills on a lifestyle that keeps us in our seats, dreaming of a better life. As I contemplate a return to the US, I realize that I don’t want to return to a life of scheduled exercise, paid for entertainment, and constant worry about the rising monthly costs on a life that I’m barely living. I want to live with friends, have fun, and enjoy this midlife crisis I seem to be having.

In short, I want to make a retirement community for people who want to retire from the rat race, but not from their life’s work. I want to find a way for people to make what they really care about the focus of their life. How would we make a living? I’m not sure. I do know I don’t need that much to thrive and I like to move around during the day. What do you think? Am I just dreaming, or can this be done?”

VIA

I think this is what I want for my life. One day, to live in a community, with a garden at the centre. A place where a guitar is never far away. Fireflies and ladybugs call it home as well. People play with theirs kids, use hula hoops, paint pictures and eat together. Someone is always around for company and the garden is the hub of it all. Bicycles are welcome and smiles come free. We sing, we dance, we make things.

4 thoughts on “The future

  1. What you Describes sounds absolutely awesome, to live in such a close knit community would be something different exciting.
    I had something like this when I was younger. I lived in an Apartment building, and although I was only 9 at the time, it just felt like we were all so in contact with each other, and we all were such happy neighbors, and to bout, we had a community garden.. I remember going there and playing hide and seek in the Sun flower patches and planting Dalia’s with my mom and sister.

    I get what you mean Jenni. It’s such a Nice thing.
    : )

Leave a Reply

