Summer Camp

This past week was my first week working at SFU Summer Camps! It was so much fun and I learned so much from it! It was a little crazy (okay REALLY crazy) but definitely worth it. We did so much in such a a short time. The kids made computer games, 3D characters, commercials, a green screen music video (okay so my co-worker Lanz did most of the work on that one haha), and super hero identities (with costumes!). We had four guest speakers, three of which I had a hand in setting up. It was so nice to have so many interesting people I know come to be a part of camp, but more on that later.

I had to deal with a bunch of behaviour issues that I wasn’t really prepared for. It really enforced my view of rule #1: treat other as you want to be treated. In our leader guidebook it lists “withholding kindness” as a form of abuse which I found a bit funny but also true. I learned that conflict resolution has tree parts: saying sorry, actually feeling sorry and then acceptance and forgiveness from the offended party. All three are really important.

On Friday the AMAZING SuperForest Jackson of superforest.org came in to give a talk for the kids via Skype. From Hawaii to British Columbia, how amazing! I was SO EXCITED and I think it went very well. I had a ton of technical issues so Jackson was never able to see us in BC but he could hear us and answered a bunch of the kids questions. It was a big learning experience (on the technical and logistical side) but I think the kids liked it and the other leaders were very impressed. At the beginning he introduced himself and what he is doing at Zero One in Hawaii.

This is the last 17 minutes of SuperForest Jackson’s talk.

I’m so grateful for this wonderful job. My co-workers, the volunteer and all the kids were awesome and I’m so lucky to have such an interesting opportunity.

Love,

Jenni

One thought on “Summer Camp

  1. Pingback: Hawaii! « i'm on an adventure!

Leave a Reply

