Movie Theatre’s and Charlie St. Cloud

Yesterday was such an odd day for me. I had so many places I could have gone and people I could have been with but my body needed to rest and so I listened. I stayed home and did “nothing” (which for me equates to playing guitar, dancing, blogging, catching up on e-mail and blogs, handstands, and napping). The feeling reminded me of some archived i am being posts, sometimes saying “yes” to yourself is saying “no” to other people. I am so grateful I could reclaim that day to rest and recharge my batteries. Late at night my Mom invited me out to the movies. My plan was to watch one in the backyard but I ended up going out with her instead. We went to see Charlie St. Cloud, the new Zac Efron flick. As of late, every time I go to the movies I experience the same discomfort. The minute you walk into the theatre it is so loud. There are so many colours and screens and so much advertising everywhere. It is so much to process. It makes me appreciate reading books. All of this consumer culture in one place, it’s a bit frightening to be honest. No wonder i’m becoming a hermit, you can’t take me out to eat or to see a movie… what is a young person to do with me?

Once the movie stated though it was able to take me out of that for a while. The movie was good, it definitely drew me in and I was surprised a number of times along the way. I did think that Zac Efron (although sexy) looked too old to be a high school senior at the beginning. Also I found the pacing at the end a little funny, it felt like it should have either ended sooner or continued on. The movie asks us the question, will you move on to the future or stay in the past?

I think I’m going forward, for once, which is likely a very good thing : )

Also afterwards my Mom was like, “His eyes! You could drown in his eyes!” (of Zac Efron) which I found really funny : D

3 thoughts on “Movie Theatre’s and Charlie St. Cloud

  1. I feel the same way about movie theatres. I went to see Inception last night (amazing movie) but I was like “Bluh, I hate people.” Also the popcorn smell..ew.

    Either way, I’m glad you enjoyed the movie, and “his eyes…”

    I have to say that the future/past question is one that I have been wrestling with since school ended, or actually more since grad. I’ve always been devoted to the past, but now? I’m so ready to cut some of the past out and embrace the future! Though I’ll miss you, Jenni Remps <3

  2. Inception! I hear it’s really good.

    HAHA, “I could see it in his eyes…” x D

    I’m glad you are embracing the future, it’s taken me a while but I think I finally am too : )
    I’m gonna miss you!!! Skype though k? : D

Leave a Reply

