Alice in Wonderland Thoughts

Last week, on Tuesday at Summer Camp we watched Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. I was so excited for this movie a year before it came out and then I got busy and pre occupied with life and somehow this was my first viewing of the film. I had heard mixed review from people about it but I am so glad I finally got to watch it. We relocated from a theatre to a classroom so I can’t comment much on the special effects or the visuals but I LOVED the story and the message. It had so many clever and funny moments and equally entertaining were the camper’s reactions. When the caterpillar was wrapping himself in his cocoon I was blessed to overhear…

“See, smoking kills you.”

“No, smoking turns you into a butterfly.”

HAHA! I think that statement is debatable. LOL.

The film went really deep into exploring madness and also imagination. There was a moment at the beginning where Alice laughed and explained that she had a sudden vision of all the men in dresses and the women in pants. I have a confession to make. Sometimes I tell people I had a dream about something but really I just had a crazy imaginative thought and passing it off as a dream felt more socially acceptable. Sometimes I am honest though. One of my favourite past times is picturing everything people say to me in muppet voices. This is a very good form of entertainment : D

Her speech at the end about the six impossible things was probably my favourite.

“I try to believe in as many as six impossible things before breakfast. Count them, Alice. One, there are drinks that make you shrink. Two, there are foods that make you grow. Three, animals can talk. Four, cats can disappear. Five, there is a place called Underland. Six, I can slay the Jabberwocky.”

– Alice

All of those things can be proven as true, or if not they are believed by the masses. Who is the crazy one really? In the end one of the main themes that stood out for me was the concept of identity. We are not defined by other people but by our own actions. That is what makes us who we are.

I definitely want to watch it again, I was very impressed.

The world is my wonderland.

J

One thought on “Alice in Wonderland Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Shisha Addict

Leave a Reply

