no time for cameras, we’ll use our eyes instead: a poem and a song

I was just discovering my friend Trini’s Lovely blog and I noticed the excellent quote at the top: no time for cameras, we’ll use our eyes instead. I’ve thought about this idea before, the way there are some things you can’t take a picture of (like climbing into a waterfall in Hawaii and seeing rainbows because there is  an abundance of water and sun). A nice reminder to live in the moment. Anyway I started writing a poem and then I realized it was a line from a song so before listening to it I finished my poem. Interesting the different results with the same prompt : ) Oh, and try to picture it sort of to the tune of  Green Day’s Time of your life…

 

for the things you cannot photograph, the ones that you must see

there is no apature or shutter speed to capture, what you mean to me

it isn’t so much looking, as learning how to be

to view the world through a loving lens, and it’s all yours for free

there is

no time for cameras, we’ll use our eyes instead

let’s fill our minds with memories, before we go to bed

take in each and every moment, ’cause it could be the last

be grateful for the things we see and grateful for the past

I don’t need a SLR to catch the sunlight dancing in your eyes

No point and shoot could convey the beauty of this sunrise

I may only have one moment to make that perfect shot

But I have a lifetime to appreciate all i’ve got

there is

no time for cameras, we’ll use our eyes instead

everything is wonderful and kept inside my head

take in each and every moment, ’cause it could be the last

be grateful for the things we see and grateful for the past

 

And now the actual song : )

 

Live LIVE. You are here. I love you.

Jenni

Leave a Reply

