ACKNOWLEDGE YOURSELF.

ACKNOWLEDGE YOURSELF.

Give yourself permission to acknowledge yourself. What are you not appreciating about you? What are you afraid to say?

Yesterday I was at a workshop and as it ended we randomly acknowledged the other participants. As we were doing this I was reflecting on my experience at the workshop. I like to think back and look for areas I can improve after I complete an experience. It isn’t an inherently negative process by any means, I am looking for opportunities to be more awesome. However I think we all struggle with negative self talk. On this day, I was thinking about how sometimes I don’t communicate clearly. I was noticing how sometimes I figure out what I want to say only though saying it, and when I first start talking sometimes the meaning gets lost because I am not clear myself on the best way to share my ideas. It was so strange for me though because the woman that acknowledged me, specifically spoke about how well I articulated myself and the value she found in the questions and comments I shared.

It is so ironic when other people acknowledge us for things we have not acknowledged ourselves for.

This reminded me of the great SuperForest post that SF Mathew made about the Leaders Causing Leaders conference. In their speech (go view the post to watch it, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) the Engelhart’s talk about how you can create other people. By recognizing and acknowledging things in others, even if there is not evidence that these qualities exist, we can grow people. I think it works the same way with negative things, even if these is no evidence of something, hearing it enough will make it true for you…

I’d never thought of applying this logic internally. What if, instead of trying to improve things, or change things about our selves, we simply acknowledged ourselves for being the things we are trying to cultivate internally. Perhaps we would naturally grow as a result of the positive acknowledgement.

For example, lately I have been working on my spacial awareness. I noticed that when I believed I was coordinated and aware of my environment, I did not have issues with spacial awareness (parking lots can be scary!).

I suppose this is how affirmations work. Interesting.

ACKNOWLEDGE YOURSELF.

Give yourself permission to acknowledge yourself. What are you not appreciating about you? What are you afraid to say?

 

Leave a Reply

