film idea: secret place of secrets

So the other day I went to this kind of secluded, somewhat sketchy restaurant to have a bit of an awkward conversation. When I walked in it was pretty empty, there were only two or three other people dining. It was funny, I noticed: two truckers eating together, a couple, a lonely guy… and it gave me this cool idea of a short film. The restaurant felt a bit secret and I couldn’t help but imagine that everyone dining there was part of a secret. Sort of a secret place, where people take their secrets. The place was a bit of a hole in the wall, a quiet place… and it felt like a metaphor for the quiet secret places we hide things from ourselves.

I made up stories about the people I saw… people breaking up, people having an affair, people with secret sexual identities, secret lives, fake names…

Hmmmm. Inspiration comes in the strangest forms.

Leave a Reply

