Requiem for a Dream

What are you addicted to?

BE EXCITED, BE BE EXCITED!

So I just watch the AMAZING movie Requiem for a Dream for the first time. It was directed by the same guy who made Black Swan (winner!) and I’m really excited to watch more of his stuff. Anywho, I thought IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL FILM. The acting was so real and I found the whole thing to be very immersive. The soundtrack is haunting and I thought the editing was super innovative, simple and a very creative use of the visual medium. Did i mention the script? BEAUTIFUL! Every word. I laughed, had tears in my eyes and was really taken by the narrative. It was a very interesting study of addiction. I think they should show this movie in high schools because it really made me want to not do drugs. hahaha. But seriously, the conclusion was really disturbing (in a good way) and I was physically altered by watching this film. Riding my bike home afterwards was a bit of an adventure given my slightly altered frame of mind having just watched 2ish hours of drug related visuals (had this moment where my shadow was chasing me… so scary… and funny haha). It’s interesting to think about my own addictions though. In the movie they deal with hard drug addiction, prescription drug addiction, food addiction, sex addiction, people addiction, art addiction… I think everyone has addictions. What is your drug? And what would your life be like without it?

PS: The film also has this pretty trippy wesbite!

Leave a Reply

