my thoughts on DREAMING (or a review of Waking Life)…

The basic plot of the film is based on a physiological phenomenon known as “lucid dreaming”. Lucid dreaming means dreaming while knowing that you are dreaming. The term was coined by Frederik van Eeden who used the word “lucid” in the sense of mental clarity. Many of the dream state idiosyncrasies described in the film, such as the inability to read time on a digital watch or the tendency of light switches to malfunction, are described in studies authored by Dr. Stephen LaBerge of Stanford University, the leading American authority on lucid dreaming.

FROM INDB

I think it’s interesting that is was created on mostly consumer equiptment, proving that you don’t need to spend lots of money to make good art (however I am the proud owner of the new Nikon D7000 haha).

I LOVE the quotes in the movie. I was trying to tweet everything but there wasn’t enough time. Some of my favorites were…

Dreaming is destiny.

Judge not lest ye be judged.

As one realizes that one is a figure in someone else’s dream, that is self awareness.

On really romantic evenings of self, I go salsa dancing with my confusion.

…that’s what I loved the most, connecting with the people. Looking back, that’s all that really mattered.

…we all know the function of media has never been to eliminate the evils of the world, no. Their job is to persuade us to accept those evils and get used to living with them.

I had some interesting thoughts of my own as well. I think i’m gonna use them to make an art film though so stay tuned : D

I really want to learn more an experiment with ludic dreaming and this whole realm of ideas.

PS: There’s a HOW TO for everything these days : P

Leave a Reply

