Jenni goes RAW!

My relationship with food has shifted recently. Since being back from California I have been super committed to eating RAW organic vegan food. I was vegan before my trip but being around the community in San Francisco and LA really presenced me to the power of raw food.

SOOOO What is raw food?

There are many books and websites about it but basically, in my understanding, a raw vegan diet is based on the science that all living foods (vegetables, nuts, seeds, fruit) are full of digestive enzymes (so when fruit rots, it is basically eating itself). When food is cooked these enzymes die. Therefore, raw food is more nutritious.

I eat lots of abundant salads, smoothies, and other amazing dishes. Almost anything can be replicated in raw form with some adjustments.

I did a raw cleans last summer and at that time I decided it was too challenging to continue to eat that way, due to my student schedule and frequent dinner outings with friends.

Yesterday, I noticed something I have been making up that has been stopping me from embracing this lifestyle. I think I heard it on TV or in a movie but I was being stopped by this thought that “real girls don’t eat salads”. The idea that a “burger and fries” are what fun, friendly people eat. I think I was also making up that ordering a salad makes me undesirable or that other people might think I have an eating disorder (she must be hungry with only that salad!)

I now see that eating salad is empowering. When I feel great and love what I put in my body I am fulfilled and happy. I get to choose! Other people probably don’t judge me as much as I make up that they do… but even if they do, it doesn’t matter! I cam free to choose what I eat and when and how much! I get to choose. And right now, I choose raw : )

 

PS: At my 8:30 class on Monday I was so AWAKE and ALERT! No zombie-like morning state for me! Raw food is energizing! And I read online about one guy who only sleeps four hours a day. Think of what I could do with that extra time! I am grateful I nourish myself. It allows me to love, nourish and serve others : )

Leave a Reply

