Positivism: How Love, Happiness and Compassion Change the World

This past weekend I hosted a workshop at the Canadian Conference on Student Leadership in Calgary, Alberta. The workshop was called “Positivism: How Love, Happiness and Compassion Change the World” and the description in the program was as follows:

How did one girl go from being suicidal and depressed to traveling the world for free, meeting celebrities and living a life of unconditional love? From Vancouver to Hawaii to California, presenter Jenni Rempel has been connected with big names like Maroon 5 and Jason Mraz. By making choices about how we act and think, we have the power to change the world we live in. This workshop will looking at empowering videos, personal stories and other examples of a loving world. We will also try out techniques for communicating with, loving, and inspiring others (and ourselves).

“What is going to save the human race? Please. Thank you. Why? Because if we all started treating the people and things that we interact with every day with respect and compassion, the effects would ripple through every aspect of our lives, transforming society.” – SuperForest.org

Click here to view the Positivitism Slides! Below are the videos we watched during the workshop…

We ended by reenacting a quick version of this meditation:

If I would have had time I would have played this as well because it is beautiful:

Links!

A few things I could have done better: prefacing the Laughter Yoga exercises with the “fake it till you make it” explanation for health benefits; stating WHY I have certain opinions, being extra careful to state that everything is only MY opinion, define terms (ie: acknowledgement, unconditional love) in slides, acknowledge doubt.

The reviews were very positive… all parts of the workshop came up in feedback as valuable so I’m not sure if i’ll change the program of the workshop at all.

I feel inspired to make changes in the way I live my life.

I appreciate those around me.

Everything in life is an opportunity!

I want to call/e-mail my family and friends and change the way I think of my “enemies”

Awespirational!

It made me feel great!

I feel the need to find unconditional love for people i’ve shunned in my life.

There is always something positive in every situation.

I feel inspired, which is impressive.

This was the best session at the conference!

Positivistsm is awesome and can change the world.

I feel grateful and reaffirmed in my own positivity.

I feel great and worthy.

So much positive energy was going around the room, you were a great speaker!

I feel happy i’m happy!

I feel like smiling a big, huge smile!

I feel like a million bucks.

We have the ability to instantaneously love a stranger next to us. We all just want to be loved.

Reaffirmed my faith in humanity.

Giving space is powerful.

I feel touched.

I spend more time with the glass half empty, I need to change it to half full.

I feel happier, like I could change my life through love.

I want to spread kindness to people.

The lessons you taught and your attitude make me want to do what you do!

I learned how to appreciate the moments of life more.

You have an incredible perspective on life that is contagious, thank you.

I feel really inspired to live my life to the fullest and change my outlook.

I can affect change.

This session reminded me what it means to be human and the essence of humankind… How far off track we have gone and how important it is to get back on track.

I feel that there is hope for everyone and the potential for them to be good.

I feel inspired to banish negativity from my life and make it more positive. I feel uplifted to make change and share what i’ve learned with others.

I kind of realized that I am not always as kind as I could be and I don’t always appreciate what I have and i’d like to change that.

I feel really calm and beloved and excited that there are people like you in our generation.

The average score was 9.3 out of 10. (I think in the future I will add a “what would make you rate this session 10/10” part to my evaluation).

One thought on “Positivism: How Love, Happiness and Compassion Change the World

  1. Pingback: SuperForester Jenni Presents: 3 Things for the World « SuperForest

Leave a Reply

