Letter Writing Works!

Recently I attended a lovely Liberation BC letter-writing volunteer night. We wrote letters to politicians and media outlets in response to animal rights issues.

There was a room full of awesome vegans and I can’t remember the last time I laughed that hard.

They introduced me to this guy and his vegan music videos:

SO FUNNY! I can’t find it now but my favorite one included him singing

I’m vegan ’cause animals are my friends and I want people to stop murdering my friends!

I was also reminded how lucky I am to have a vegan penpal!

The best part was right at the end of the night. I found all of these awesome animal hats that some little kids must have made in the recycling bin. I wore one all the way home. Tiger Jenni. Rawr. This week I got a letter back from city council saying they received my letter about banning Shark Fins and they are passing it around to all of the councilors and the mayor! Cool!

I’ve decided that it isn’t enough to value something and reflect that in the choices I make and how I live, if I want to create change I need to communicate with the world and share my knowledge, to be a voice for the voiceless : )

UPDATE: It looks like local politician Fin Donnelly, is advocating for sharks and recommending a nation wide Shark Fin ban! Awesome! Check it out here: http://www.findonnelly.ca/node/388

Leave a Reply

