I LOVED The Idiot at #PUSHFestival

All photos courtesy of PuSh Festival.

All photos courtesy of PuSh Festival.

I am so excited and inspired at this present moment! I saw the most amazing play today with my acting class! My teacher, Patti Allan, was in a theatrical adaptation of the novel “The Idiot” by Fyodor Dostoevsky at the Vancouver PUSH Festival. It was dark but bright, witty and clever, sarcastic and all to serious, kind and honest, true, musical, BEAUTIFUL! I loved all of it. Oh and over three hours long in true SFU Fashion : P

Here are some things that I loved!

FOG! YES FOG!

FOG + LIGHT! SO PRETTY

 (to the Russian) “Not the least bit rusty” (it was a pun)

“I like laughing at you”

“It’s a beautiful day, made all the more pleasant in the climate of you.”

“He wondered how long life would feel if he didn’t die at all”

“I’ve talked way too much but it’s because I liked you all immediately”

“Fuck Switzerland! … Fuck her too!” LOL

Light creating rooms on stage! Beautiful blocking!

“What is the worst thing you have ever done?”

IDEA: It would be cool to have a play where the audience leaves their phones on and everyone makes a group song with ringtones.. or maybe everyone has to ask someone to call them when intermission is supposed to start to signify that. Hmm!

(of death) “Please accept my condolences.”

BODONI! I appreciate the use of Bodoni. (font nerd much? haha < 3)

The stage reminded me of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cyb6TN7Yyxk

and this:

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP6SNuII1kI

I also enjoyed the use of the word “fuck”.

The look of branches silhouetted in the light.

“Sometimes if you’re farfetched people fall for it.”

Whenever a character did something I thought was strange I was like OH, their just Russian. It’s okay! haha! And I really want to get in touch with my Russian roots now!

“You don’t need to thank us.” … “I’m not, i’m admiring you.”

“I BELIEVE WE HAVE THE POWER IN EACH OF US TO BE HAPPY. AND WHEN YOU WALK BY A TREE HOW CAN YOU NOT BE? AND WHEN YOU TALK TO ANOTHER MAN? OR A SUNSET. OR THE EYES OF A CHILD.” *collapses dramatically*

I highly recommend the show! Ir is playing at the Freddy Wood Theatre at UBC. Tomorrows the last show so go check it out! http://pushfestival.ca/

See you on a train to St.Petersburg.

Love!

Jenni

PS: I looked up the author and just posted a bunch of his quotes on my TUMBLR : )

One thought on “I LOVED The Idiot at #PUSHFestival

  1. One of the best plays we’ve seen in a long time! When we heard it was 3 1/2 hrs long, we were worried…but the staging was fantastic and actors were great so it didn’t drag at all. Check it out while you still can!

Leave a Reply

