My Blessings

Blessed art thou
I was reading THIS ARTICLE titled “Have I ever had “ANY unwanted/undesired physical or sexual contact”?” today and I found myself having a different experience than the author. I think the end especially was interesting…

I refuse to do the happy dance because I was fortunate enough not to be molested as a little girl and have not been violently raped. I refuse to be abjectly grateful for ‘getting off easy’ with the experiences I’ve mentioned here.

Because I deeply resent that they are normal.

Because I can hardly stand the thought of these constant erosions of personhood seeming normal to our daughters and sons.

But for this love and gentleness and compassion, I am infinitely grateful.

I have a different opinion (but her’s is totally valid). I say, why not do the happy dance? Why not celebrate? I too feel sad that some of these things are “normal” to some people and that others have experienced them. However, I appreciate that I have been very blessed, both by experiences I have had, and those I have not.

For example… I have never…

  • been raped
  • been molested
  • been beat up
  • been shot
  • been physically surrounded by war
  • been physically stalked
  • lost someone close to me
  • and much more..

In contrast, I can admit that I have…

  • hurt myself on purpose
  • been bullied
  • attempted suicide
  • had “unwanted physical contact”
  • been stolen from
  • grown up in a single parent household
But I have also…
  • bullied others
  • been mean
  • hurt others physically (though I am not very strong haha)
  • potentially given others “unwanted physical contact”
  • stolen from others
AND still I have…
  • apologized
  • found unconditional happiness
  • known love
  • loved myself (and still do!)
  • lived my dreams (too many to count last year alone)
  • helped others
  • inspired others
  • gotten to exactly where I want to be
  • made a commitment to love and kindness

I am so grateful for all of it! I am so blessed by everything. Because ALL of this, makes me who I am today.

4 thoughts on “My Blessings

  1. We have to play the hand we’re dealt – who knows what the next card will be? – one thing for sure, the longer we’re in the game, the more experiences we’ll have, the more mistakes we’ll make, the more lessons we’ll learn, the more victories we’ll have. The odds are stacked in favour of the banker, but that shouldn’t stop us living, otherwise we’ve lost and it’s game over!

Leave a Reply

