FoodSafe: A Vegan Adventure

Vegan Food - It's What Should Be For Dinner! mosaic~

I became FoodSafe Level 1 Certified! Yay! Here were some interesting things I got out of the course:
  • “Don’t come to work intoxicated.”
  • “Don’t throw knives.”
  •  I wonder how much the people in the Foodsafe video got paid. Are they actors or “real” people? Hmmmm.
  • DID YOU KNOW? Pigs and Fish are full of parasites like tapeworms and someone needs to remove them before people eat pigs or fish : (
  • (of bacteria on us) ”we are dirty, vile, creatures”
  • “cats are contaminated.”
  • “if in doubt, throw it out”
  • Anything from an animal is assumed to be contaminated.
  • I will never forget the image of cow flesh dripping blood on lettuce in a cooler : (
  • We had a bit of discussion about why would people want raw milk? (why would people want animals milk at all?)
  • I want an Ice Wand! Cool! Ice Wand! Yay!
  • Raw veggies cannot get bacteria! Cool! Just wash ’em (they are not listed as a potentially hazardous food).

Some of my questions were not answered…

Q. If all chickens are assumed to have Salmonella, do other birds have Salmonella? What about crows?

After some googling… I think not. But this book says that crows and seagulls (much like fish) have mercury in them http://books.google.ca/books?id=nCV8elrPxk0C&pg=PA164&lpg=PA164&dq=crows+salmonella&source=bl&ots=eIc0j06UFL&sig=KDEPNvWDNLMEN6cgrfJMG6lmkmk&hl=en&sa=X&ei=qNkjT-fnNuGeiQL5j9HMBw&ved=0CDwQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q&f=false

Q: How does food turn from an acid to alkaline in digestion (like lemons)?

“As I mentioned above, alkaline diet foods have an alkalizing effect on the body because they are rich in alkaline minerals, especially calcium, magnesium, and potassium. All of these minerals are very important, but potassium has the biggest effect on your internal pH.” via http://www.alkalinediet.org/

Other sources with info: http://www.brightsmilebeautifulyou.com/blog/lemon_water/index.html#.TyPXHWNWqFg

http://www.goutpal.com/gout-food-to-avoid.html

At first I was thinking, wow most of this doesn’t affect me. But then I realized that is does. Even if I make the choice not to eat animals and animal products many other people still do – and they could contaminate me! Or the people I love (everyone)! Or themselves! Wow! I did realize how much simpler cooking vegan is in terms of preventing disease. Yay. I think haha. We are all so connected, I see it more and more deeply each day.

I also noticed that the course was not very inclusive in some ways. I didn’t like the way we referred to my friends the chickens as “food”. Much of the footage in the videos also featured dead animals flesh being prepared which I found very disturbing.

There were many of my questions that were answered though!

I learned about why people eat cow meat that is cooked on the outside but not the inside (medium rare) but not other animals prepared in a similar manner (ie: chicken). Apparently all chicken is assumed to have Salmonella. Cow is different. Larger risks of contamination mainly come from ground beef because when they cut the meat there is a chance they can accidentally cut the intestines and release feces (poop) into the meat. So ground beef and chicken must be cooked all the way through to at least 74 degrees Celsius for at least 15 seconds to kill any dangerous microbes.

I passed with 92%. Score!

Let me know if you need me to be your FoodSafe person!

OH and I also had another idea. The purpose of FoodSafe is to keep the public safe and healthy…. So what about another course called “EnviroSafe” meant to keep the environment safe and healthy? They could have standards and certifications for waste management and green living! I also thought of “SelfSafe” a program for keeping our minds and thoughts safe and healthy. Imagine that!

3 thoughts on “FoodSafe: A Vegan Adventure

  1. I’m not a vegan, or vegetarian for that matter, but I share a lot of the same principals regarding food poisoning our bodies (I try to avoid processed food and dairy) – I like the line, ‘don’t come to work intoxicated’ – All of our bodies are full of toxins, unavoidable, so the battle is to limit exposure. I admire your beliefs, ethics and conviction that will help you win that battle.

    • Haha, I think she literally meant don’t come to work under the influence of alcohol but I really like your interpretation of that bit! If life is our work then what does that say about the impact of our lifestyles. Interesting! Thanks for the good think!

  2. Pingback: Documentary: The Century of the Self « SuperForest

Leave a Reply

