These Kids Wear Crowns: A Personal Invitation to SFU LipDub

Dear These Kids Wear Crowns,

My name is Jenni Rempel and I am an Assistant Director on the SFU LipDub project. I am personally writing this letter to you to invite you to participate in the SFU LipDub – tomorrow, March 14th in the evening.

I know this is fairly short notice, however I until a few hours ago I was under the impression that you were still in Australia on tour. Given that you are just a hop, skip (or a jump?) away from Burnaby Mountain I think it would be super cool if you would come out and support our event. I have been involved in this project for two years now and it would really be a dream come true to see it come to life in the most amazing way possible.

I understand that SFU LipDub has legally acquired the rights to use the song “Jumpstart” by These Kids Wear Crowns in our LipDub Music Video. One of our producers has just informed me that previous requests for you to attend the SFU LipDub were denied because you thought it was unfair to other groups that have used your songs in their videos.

I think you should attend the SFU LipDub for a few reasons. Unlike other projects, I have been working on the SFU LipDub for two years. This substantial time commitment speaks to the amount of effort and the large scale of this project, run entirely by unpaid volunteers. Also, the whole thing is a fundraiser for the Greater Vancouver Food Bank and it would be really amazing if we could raise the profile of this event benefitting the community. Furthermore, unlike many other groups who make online videos, SFU LipDub has actually gone through all the ropes to legally acquire the rights to the song instead of stealing it or using it without permission.

Apart from the huge benefits to SFU Students and the Food Bank, you may be wondering how this will benefit you personally. The SFU LipDub is great opportunity for you to get exposure to a huge audience. There will be hundreds of students, well connected university students, with hundreds of friends who would be ready and willing to promote These Kids Wear Crowns. These students could “like” the band’s Facebook page, follow the band on twitter, request them on the radio, buy their songs and more! As if that isn’t enough, I volunteer to personally call all the radio stations in BC to request they play These Kids Wear Crowns! I will bake you cupcakes! You can even be invited to our after party!

Anywho, if you happen to receive this request it would be wonderful if you could contact myself or any other member of the lipdub team. My personal cell phone number is 604.230.4936 and my e-mail is jenni.rempel@gmail.com. You can also contact our Associate Producer Manjot Badesha by phone at 778.859.6074 or by e-mail at manjot@sfulipdub.com

Thank you very much, Alex, Alan, Matt, Joe, Josh and “Gypsy”.

 

With Hopeful Optimism,

Jenni Rempel

Assistant Director

SFU LipDub

604.230.4936

jennir@sfu.ca

 

2 thoughts on “These Kids Wear Crowns: A Personal Invitation to SFU LipDub

    • Why thank you! And yes so brave – after posting this I realized I had put my own and Manjot’s numbers and contact info all over the interwebs haha. #winning : P

Leave a Reply

